www.LinuxHowtos.org

edit this article

Clear the screen on logout

If you have an account on a server and using this from a public place, like an internet cafe or an university you probably want to make sure that nobody is able to read the leftovers from your session.

To archieve this, add the command "clear" to the end of "~/.bash_logout".

To make sure there is no data in the terminal scrollback, close the term window or if you are in a text console, switch to a different one (like Alt+F2) and back. That clears the scrollback buffer.


rate this article:
current rating: average rating: 1.0 (796 votes) (1=very good 6=terrible)
Your rating:
Very good (1) Good (2) ok (3) average (4) bad (5) terrible (6)

back